TTB Issues Limits On 'Gluten-Free' Al-Bev Labeling

UNKNOWN | Other
Published: 03/04/2014

WASHINGTON — The Alcohol and Tobacco Tax and Trade Bureau last month issued interim guidelines for labeling alcohol beverages with gluten content claims.

Under TTB-Ruling 2012-2, TTB will not allow products made from ingredients that contain gluten to be labeled as “gluten-free.” Such products may only carry a label stating they were processed to remove gluten but that the product may still contain gluten.